Skip to main content

A picture of last year’s awards (JC Photos).


The event is hosted by the Racehorse Owners Association to honour and celebrate the achievements of our champions during the Highveld Feature racing season.

Media release by Racehorse Owners Association on Thursday 4 May 2023.

The nominees for the 2023 Highveld Feature Season Awards are:

Champion two year old filly

Only one nominee – will be announced at the Awards function

Champion two year old colt/gelding

Only one nominee – will be announced at the Awards function

Picture: Lady Of Power wins the Grade 2 Wilgerbosdrift Gauteng Fillies Guineas).

Champion three year old filly

  • Bless My Stars
  • Lady Of Power
  • None Other

Picture: Anfields Rocket wins the Grade 1 WSB SA Classic.

Champion three year old colt/gelding

  • Anfields Rocket
  • Billy Bowlegs
  • Eye Of The Prophet
  • Royal Victory
  • Union Square

Picture: Desert Miracle wins the Grade 1 HSH Princess Charlene Empress Club Stakes. 

Champion older filly/mare

  • Desert Miracle
  • Princess Calla
  • Rain In Holland

Picture: Isivunguvungu wins the Grade 1 Jonsson Workwear Computaform Sprint.

Champion older horse

  • Isivunguvungu
  • Puerto Manzano (ARG)
  • Trip Of Fortune

Champion sprinter

  • Isivunguvungu
  • Princess Calla

Picture: Puerto Manzano wins the Grade 3 London News Stakes.

Champion Middle distance horse

  • Anfields Rocket
  • Bless My Stars
  • Desert Miracle
  • Puerto Manzano (ARG)
  • Trip Of Fortune

Champion Stayer

The nominees for Champion Stayer will be announced after the running of the World Sports Betting Gold Bowl (Grade 3) on Sunday 7th May 2023.

The Chairman of the voting process is Nico Kritsiotis, and he is joined on the panel by Jack Milner and Lyall Cooper.

Some categories were fairly predictable, and others attracted lengthy discussion.

However, by the conclusion of the deliberations the judges were satisfied that a fair process had taken place and the correct decisions were taken.

Winners in the following categories are based on a points structure and will be announced at the Awards function:

  • Champion Work Rider
  • Champion Apprentice
  • Champion Breeder of the season
  • Champion Owner of the season
  • Champion Jockey of the season
  • Champion Trainer of the season

The following points structure was applied:


Grade 1


Grade 2

9-6 -4

Grade 3



2 – –

All equine winners are then eligible for the prestigious Horse of the Season award.

We wish all nominees the best in their respective categories and look forward to hosting them on the evening.

Images by JC Photos and Candiese Lenferna.