Skip to main content
Eye Of The Prophet and Rachel Venniker after winning the Grade 2 Wilgerbosdrift SA Fillies Guineas (JC Photos).

Jack Milner (tab4Racing)

Both winners of Leg 1 of the World Sports Betting Triple Crown and Wilgerbosdrift Triple Tiara have been nominated to run in Leg 2, the R1.5-million World Sports Betting SA Classic and R1.25-million Wilgerbosdrift SA Fillies Classic, both Grade 1 races over 1800m at Turffontein on Saturday 4 March.

The World Sports Betting Gauteng Guineas was won by Eye Of The Prophet while the Wilgerbosdrift Gauteng Fillies Guineas went the way of Lady Of Power.

There is one change, however, of trainer as Lady Of Power is now in the care of Mike and Adam Azzie.  

This came about after the sale of the Master Of My Fate filly which saw previous trainer and shareholder Joe Soma now out of the picture. “Wherever she goes and whoever is involved, she’ll make them proud,” said Soma.

“For now, I have other horses to focus on and winners to train.”

Piere Strydom, who rode her to victory in the Fillies Guineas, said he believed she would be even better over 1800m so she looks the runner they will still all have to beat.

However, of the 14 runners nominated, she has landed up with the widest draw, although over 1800m that is not too much of a disaster at Turffontein.

Also among the entries are the three who filled the next three places, Feather Boa, Reny and Emirate Gina respectively.

Paul Matchett-trained Eye Of The Prophet was as game as they come to deny Royal Victory by a short head in the Guineas but he will have it all to do in the SA Classic as there are some very strong new runners among the entries, among them Grade 3 Sea Cottage Stakes winner Billy Bowlegs and Shoemaker, while second, third and fourth placed Royal Victory, Electric Gold and Jimmy Don respectively have also been nominated.

The better news for Eye Of The Prophet is that this time he is drawn No 7 of the 18 entries while Billy Bowlegs drew at No 16.

Supplementary entries close at 9am on Monday 27 February with declarations by 11am on Tuesday 28 February.

Entries for the R1.5-million World Sports Betting SA Classic (Grade 1) over 1800m

2 ANFIELDS ROCKET (G J Maroun) 60.0

10 ARGO ALLEY (S J Gray) 60.0

13 ARIVIDICIO (M F De Kock) 60.0

16 BILLY BOWLEGS (A G Laird) 60.0

3 CAPTAINOFTHEGREEN (G van Zyl (Jnr)) 60.0

1 EAST COAST (M F De Kock) 60.0

11 ELECTRIC GOLD (S G Tarry) 60.0

7 EYE OF THE PROPHET (P F Matchett) 60.0

18 JIMMY DON (E Verdonese) 60.0

14 LAGUNA VERDE (M N Houdalakis) 60.0

6 LE MORNE (B Crawford) 60.0

15 MERIDIUS (A B Fortune) 60.0

4 MONEY HEIST (G van Zyl (Jnr)) 60.0

5 ROYAL VICTORY (N Kotzen) 60.0

8 RULE BY FORCE (J A Soma) 60.0

12 SHOEMAKER (M F De Kock) 60.0

17 STAR COIN (A G Laird) 60.0

9 TOTAL PROTECTION (A B Fortune) 60.0


Entries for the R1.25-million Wilgerbosdrift SA Fillies Classic (Grade 1) over 1800m

1 BLESS MY STARS (S G Tarry) 60.0

11 BONETE (M F De Kock) 60.0

6 EMIRATE GINA (R R Magner) 60.0

4 FEATHER BOA (S T Pettigrew) 60.0

2 GIMMEALIGHT (P F Matchett) 60.0

14 LADY OF POWER (M/A Azzie) 60.0

9 MIGHTY GODDESS (B B Ruiters) 60.0

5 NONE OTHER (M N Houdalakis) 60.0

3 ORARARI GOLD (C J Lensley) 60.0

13 POMOZELOUS (J A Soma) 60.0

10 RENY (B Crawford) 60.0

8 ROSY LEMON (F Bronkhorst) 60.0

12 SILVER HILLS (S G Tarry) 60.0

7 TABBY KAT (M/A Azzie) 60.0