Skip to main content

Picture: Lot 10: Safe Passage (right) is top of the Summer Cup log and his stablemate Aragosta (left) is in tenth place. (Candiese Lenferna).


The final log for the 2022 Betway Summer Cup has been released and should the 20 entries topping the table all be declared, the race will see 15 graded winners go head to head in Gauteng’s most celebrated race.

Scheduled to be run over 2000m at the Turffontein Racecourse on Saturday 26 November 2022, the Mike de Kock-trained Safe Passage is top of the log.

Winner of the Daily News 2000 in May this year, the four-year-old finished third behind Bingwa in the Allied Steelrode On A Mission Charity Mile last Saturday in his first run of the season.

Bingwa, meanwhile, has shot up the Betway Summer Cup log after that victory and now is second on the table, up from position 11.

Hollywoodbets Durban July heroine Sparkling Water is third after being in top spot earlier.

Red Saxon, trained by Joe Soma, has jumped from eighth to fourth position while Johan Janse van Vuuren’s Puerto Manzano is up from ninth to fifth.

Triple Tiara winner Rain in Holland has dropped three places and finds herself sixth on the log after her disappointing run in the Pinnacle Stakes over 1400m on Saturday, her first run in 182 days.

It is interesting to note that seven runners in the top 20 on the Betway Summer Cup log are carded to contest the Grade 3 Victory Moon Stakes at Turffontein this coming Saturday, 5 November.

With Perfect Witness, Zeus, Aragosta, Nebraas, Second Base, William Robertson and Sparkling Water having their final prep run before the Betway Summer Cup, it could give an indication of how these runners are shaping up ahead of the big day.

Thanks to new sponsor Betway, the stakes for Johannesburg’s flagship race has been increased to R2,5-million.

Final declarations are due by 11h00 on Monday 21 November, when the Barrier Draw will take place.

FINAL BETWAY SUMMER CUP LOG – 1/11/2022 (In order log position, horse, age and sex, merit rating, trainer):

1          Safe Passage                          (4G)     122      Mike de Kock

2          Bingwa                                    (5G)     123      J A Janse van Vuuren

3          Sparkling Water                      (5M)    122      Mike de Kock

4          Red Saxon                              (4G)     116      Joe Soma

5          Puerto Manzano (ARG)          (5G)     120      J A Janse van Vuuren

6          Rain In Holland                       (4F)     118      Sean Tarry

7          William Robertson                   (4G)     125      Corne Spies

8          Astrix                                         (6G)     124      J A Janse van Vuuren

9          Mk’s Pride                               (5H)     122      Mike de Kock

10        Aragosta                                  (4G)     118      Mike de Kock

11        Light Of The Moon                  (4F)     110      B Botes / Y Vosloo

12        Nebraas                                  (6G)     118      Sean Tarry

13        Second Base                          (5G)     117      J A Janse van Vuuren

14        Pink Tourmaline                      (5M)    108      Brett Crawford

15        Shangani                                 (5G)     117      J A Janse van Vuuren

16        Perfect Witness                       (4F)     109      Candice Dawson

17        Zeus                                        (4C)     108      Fabian Habib

18        Raiseahallelujah                      (5G)     99        Candice Dawson

19        Jaimala                                   (5G)     101      Ashley Fortune

20        Imperial Ruby                         (6G)     107      Corne Spies


Outofthedarkness                   (4G)     106      J A Janse van Vuuren

Pyromaniac                            (4G)     108      Sean Tarry

Shango                                    (6G)     108      Sean Tarry

Super Silvano                         (6G)     108      Brett Crawford

Zillzaal                                     (7G)     116      Sean Tarry


Majestic Mozart                      (7G)     115      Ashley Fortune

Sovereign Spirit                      (7G)     113      Ashley Fortune

Divine Odyssey                      (8G)     113      J A Janse van Vuuren

Pamushana’s Pride                 (5G)     113      Alec Laird

Marigold Hotel                         (4F)     110      Sean Tarry

Cornish Pomodoro                 (6G)     107      Sean Tarry

Black Thorn                             (5G)     103      Sean Tarry

Reunion                                   (5G)     103      J A Janse van Vuuren

Willow Express                       (5G)     101      Sean Tarry

Ikigai                                        (6H)     100      Sean Tarry

Litigation                                  (4C)     99        Sean Tarry

Indlamu                                   (5H)     99        Sean Tarry

Paisley Park                            (5G)     98        Sean Tarry

Platinum Sky                          (4G)     98        Sean Tarry

Clafoutis                                  (4F)     95        Mike de Kock

Sudden Star                            (6G)     95        B Botes / Y Vosloo

Motown Magic                         (4G)     91        Mike de Kock

Prince Evlanoff                       (6G)     81        Alec Laird


Decorated, Hoedspruit, Johnny Hero, King’s Crusade, Marchingontogether, Sprinkles, Super Silver, Youcanthurrylove