Skip to main content
Picture: Former Racing Post editor Howard Wright is one of the Equus Media Award judges ( 

Equus Commitee

On behalf of the Equus Awards Committee, it gives us great pleasure to invite you to participate in the 2022 Equus Horseracing Media Awards.

Equus Awards Criteria for Horseracing Media for the 2021/2022 Season

1. This award is open to all journalists and photographers within the print, television and electronic media industry.

2. Entry is not restricted to journalists from or within the horseracing media, all journalists are welcome and encouraged to submit work.

3. The three categories that will be judged are:

• Written material (print/electronic)

• Broadcast (includes television and internet)

• Photographic (still)

4. All entrants will be required to submit up to 2 pieces of their work that has been published

(print/electronic) or broadcast (television/internet) during the South African horseracing season, that is from 1 August 2021 to 31 July 2022.

5. The photographic category can submit 3 images of any aspect relating to the horseracing industry, they do not need to be race specific.

6. No late entries will be accepted and only work published or broadcast during the stipulated time period is eligible. Receipt of your entry will be confirmed by email from Penny Morsner.

7. The Racehorse Owners Association together with the following media experts will form the judging panel.

Alison MacKenzie grew up with a passion for horses and riding. As a young show jumper she represented her country, Zambia, and rode in amateur races there and in neighbouring Zimbabwe. After coming to South Africa, she became a National Judge for showing and breed classes. For decades Alison led out the field on race days, and took care of the famous retired thoroughbreds given this job at Turffontein Racecourse.

Alison was Editor of The South African Racehorse during which time she wrote a racing column for the Financial Mail. When The South African Racehorse was taken over by Prime Media, she joined the Thoroughbred Horse Racing Trust as its manager. With transformation as the central goal, she helped set up the Grooms’ Work Riders’ Programme and the introduction of work riders’ races.

She is a devoted lover of the noble thoroughbred horse and racing.

Neil Morrice – Former Fleet Street reporter having had 43 years experience – Press Association, Racing Post, Tellytrack, Hollywoodbets – news reporting, broadcasting, blogging and tipping

Howard Wright has been a horseracing journalist since June 1964. He joined the British daily trade newspaper the Racing Post on its launch in April 1986. Since retiring as the Post’s industry editor in July 2012, he has continued to write for the paper, as well as other international media, including Thoroughbred Owner Breeder, the UAE’s Al Adiyat and the Hong Kong Jockey Club. Aside from media work, he has been a trustee of the UK’s stable-staff training centre the National Horseracing College since 1990, and vice-chairman since 2004, and was a member of Britain’s Flat Pattern Committee from 1986-2009.

The ROA will be a non-voting Chair on the Media Awards Panel.

8. All entries received will be judged on research, accuracy and presentation.

9. Work submitted must be well written or narrated, pertinent and of value to the sport of South African Horseracing.

10. All submissions must be published (or translated) in English.

11. Loyal support and positive contribution or coverage of the sport during the South African horseracing season is essential.

12. The judging panels’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

13. The Racehorse Owners Association reserves the right to cancel the awards if there are not sufficient entries received.

All entries must be submitted to the Racehorse Owners Association:

CLOSING DATE: Friday 5 August 2022 at 12noon

SUBMIT TO: Penny Morsner

Telephone: (011) 683 3220

By Hand: The Racehorse Owners Association, 14 Turf Club Street, Turffontein Racecourse, Johannesburg

Natalie Turner

Equus Committee