Skip to main content

Kevin Sommerville, racing manager of Drakenstein Stud, accepts another trophy at Hollywoodbets Kenilworth today (Picture: Wayne Marks).   


Today’s Grade 3 Winter Nursery saw a 16th individual stakes winner this season for Drakenstein Stud.

Last season they set a new South African record with a return of 18 individual stakes winners.

Last season the 18 stakes winners won 25 stakes races between them and this season the 16 have won 24.

Furthermore, Drakenstein are leading the Breeders Championship, albeit by just a narrow margin of close to R500,000 from incumbent champions Wilgerbosdrift and Mauritzfontein.

Drakesnstein’s individual stakes winners this season are Trip Of Fortune, Charles Dickens, Jet Dark, See It Again, Rain In Holland, Santa Maria, Winter Cloud, Somerset Maughan, Sheela, Grazinginthegrass, Pacaya, Bureau Des Legendes, Gold Poker Game, Dawnofanewday, Future Pearl and Distant Winter.