FOUR  teams of three riders – namely Great Britain & Ireland, Europe, Rest Of The World and The Girls will battle it out across six races over a variety of trips, in the 2017 Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup front of a big crowd at Ascot racecourse on Saturday.

So how does it all work?

Points are awarded to the first five horses to finish in each of the Cup races as follows – winner: 15 points; second: 10 points; third: 7 points;fourth: 5 points; fifth: 3 points.  The team with the most points after the six races have been run will receive the Shergar Cup.

The six races are worth a total of £270,000 in prize money, paid down to 10th (last) place.

South African champion jockey Anthony Delpech, representing the rest of the world, has a chance of add his name to an illustrious list of winners of the Silver Saddle, the individual prize.

The jockey amassing the most individual points will take home an additional £3,000 plus the Allistair Haggis Silver Saddle trophy..

Previous winners:

2001 – David Flores
2002 – Richard Hughes
2003 – Kieren Fallon
2004 – Weichong Marwing
2006 – Ryan Moore
2007 – Hugh Bowman
2008 – Gerald Mosse
2009 – Richard Hughes
2010 – Fran Berry
2011 – Paul Hanagan
2012 – Matthew Chadwick
2013 – Gerald Mosse
2014 – Olivier Peslier
2015 – Sammy-Jo Bell
2016 – Thierry Jarnet

-GBI Racing.