ZAC Purton fell two short of breaking Joao Moreira’s record for number of winners in a Hong Kong season when he finished the 2018/19 term on 168 winners, 78 winners clear of Moreira in second. Purton’s mounts earned a whopping HK$234,98 (app. R425-million)

Mauritian Karis Teetan was third on 84 winners and South African Grant van Niekerk enjoyed a wonderful first season on the island with 31 winners, a Top 10 finish and $45-million (app. R80-million) in gross stake earnings.

Teetan put the perfect finishing touches on what was already a breakout season at Sha Tin on Sunday, notching his 300th winner in Hong Kong.

The Mauritian rode a brilliant treble on the final day of the season, capping off a remarkable year which ended with 84 winners and a maiden Group One victory – a clear career best.

Teetan brought up his 300th winner in the Class Four All You Wish Handicap (1,400m) with the Caspar Fownes-trained Have Fun Together and then wasted no time bringing up numbers 301 and 302 with Circuit Three and Happy Sebring for Tony Cruz later in the day.

A visibly excited Teetan stood up in the irons and saluted to the crowd after Have Fun Together’s victory where he flashed home from last to win by one-and-a-half lengths.

“It’s been a great season, it is a nice number to achieve,” Teetan said. “To finish off like that really put the cherry on top.

Among the trainers, John Size lifted the championship with 78 winners and stakes of $143,4-million (app R255-million). South African Tony Millard enjoyed a top 10 finish with 34 winners and $46-million (app. R82-million) in gross earnings and David Ferraris saddled 21 winners for a Top 20 finish and  $26-million (ap R46-million) in stakes.