THE South African jockeys scheduled to compete at next Tuesday’s  PGI Jockeys Challenge at Kranji Racecourse in Singapore, have secured 13 rides between them at Sunday’s Kranji meeting to “test the water”.

The rides were arranged by Singapore-based Gareth Pepper, who said on Wednesday that the Kranji trainers went out of their way to help and that they hold the SA riders Lyle Hewitson, Muzi Yeni and Aldo Domeyer in high regard.

Pepper said: “Muzi has seven rides, Lyle has four and Aldo has two, his third ride dropped away. Muzi has good chances on Michael Clements’ Eye Guy, an exciting horse in Race 6, and Nova Strike in the Gr1 Raffles Cup (Race 9). He won a Gr3 last time.

“Lyle has a winning chance in Race 6 on Zac Kasa for trainer Clifford Brown. He was second in a Gr1 sprint two starts back. He’s also on the progressive Paddington for Stephen Gray in Race 11.

“Aldo has two place chances in Race 6 (Mr Fortune) and River Golden (R10).”

TAB will operate a special Pick 6 pool – boosted by a TAB bonus – on the Jockeys Challenge race meeting on Tuesday.

The pool will start with a R150,000 add-in from T*AB and the total net pool is expected to be about R400,000.

The Pick 6 will be on Races 2 to 7 with Leg 1 at 12:55 South African time. Normal TAB Pick 6 rules will apply and any carryover will go into the TAB carryover pot utilised to create Pick 6 MegaPools on selected days.

“It’s a special occasion and the R150,000 add-in will guarantee a good-value payout for our customers,” said Vee Moodley, Executive Director Sports Betting at Phumelela.

Phumelela Publishing will produce a special international Computaform for the meeting and these will be given away free online and on a first come-first served basis in selected TAB outlets. A panel of experts will analyse the Pick 6 races in a special Tellytrack preview show, which will be screened from next Monday.

The Challenge is the first international jockey competition to be held in Singapore and has been organised by Phumelela, Australian gambling entertainment company Tabcorp and their jointly owned international subsidiary Premier Gateway International (PGI).

Three-rider teams from Australia, South Africa, Asia and the UK will compete across four races at the Kranji night meeting. Riders will score points for themselves and their teams according to their finishing positions, with 30 points for first down to three for 10th place.

Mounts will be determined by ballot, but in a format that will give all jockeys a roughly equal mix of rides.

The teams:

South Africa: Lyle Hewitson, Muzi Yeni and Aldo Domeyer.

Asia: Joao Moreira, Vlad Duric and Benny Woodworth.

Australia: Hugh Bowman, Kerrin McEvoy and Mark Zahra.

UK: Hayley Turner, Robert Havlin and Fran Berry.