THERE were a remarkable 101 nominations for the R750,000 Grand Heritage over 1475m to be. This has to be something of a record but what makes this race stand out from all others is that there will be 28 runners participating. As long as that happens, stakes will be paid up to the 15th finisher.

The new race has caused a tidal wave of interest among racing fans due to it allowing for a maximum of 28 runners plus two reserves. Therefore, it will mirror some of the biggest betting heats in the UK such as the The Cesarewitch, The Cambridgeshire and the Tote Ebor, all big field handicaps.

The Grand Heritage will not be a handicap, but rather a conditions event in which tier 1 will carry 57kg and more, tier 2 will carry 53kg to 56.5kg and tier 3 will carry 50kg to 52.5kg.

There will be no gender or apprentice allowances.

There have been entries from all over the country and Western Cape trainers Candice Bass-Robinson and Joey Ramsden have nominated runners.

In order to be considered for inclusion in the final field, every horse nominated must have had at least a minimum of one run from time of first entry up to and including the time of final supplementary entry.

The first weights will be published tomorrow but they could change, depending on how a horse has performed during that period. Horses will be allocated a base weight and will receive penalties based on the highest Graded or Listed win in the last 18 months prior to the date of first entry – Grade 1 – 3kg, Grade 2 – 2kg, Grade 3 – 1kg, Listed – 0.5kg.

Thereafter, where applicable, amended weights for runs between first entry and final supplementary entries on 19 September will be published on a weekly basis until the final weights are announced on Tuesday 20 September.

Declarations close at 11am on Wednesday 21 September with the final fields being unveiled later that day.

The race will be the main feature in a day which has three supporting features, the R250,000 Heritage Consolation Handicap over 1475m and two R150,000 Handicap events over 1200m, all of which will allow for 28 runners maximum.

First entries for the R750,000 The Grand Heritage (Non-Black Type) over 1475m at the Vaal:

ACT OF LOYALTY (M F De Kock); ALEXA (G V Woodruff); ANALYSE THIS (P A Peter); APPLE CRUMBLE (M G Azzie); ARCTICA (M G Azzie); ASHTON PARK (C L Bass-Robinson); AWESOME ADAM (M G Azzie); BELENOS (A G Laird); BLUE DIAMOND ROAD (A G Laird); BOLD REX (M F De Kock); BROOKLYN BRAWLER (G H Van Zyl); BUDAPEST (G H Van Zyl); BULLETING HOME (S G Tarry); CAPTAIN ALDO (S J Gray); CELTIC CAPTAIN (G H Van Zyl); CHEPARDO (A G Laird); CHEROKEE GREY (A G Laird); COUNTERSTROKE (M N Houdalakis); COYOTE (M F De Kock); CUMBERLAND (R P Lerena); DENNIS THE MENACE (S T Pettigrew); DEO JUVENTE (G V Woodruff); DONNY G (S G Tarry); DREAMUPONADREAM (M F De Kock); DUKE NUKEM (G M Alexander); ENBHARR (M F De Kock); FAREEQ (M F De Kock); FINCHATTON (S G Tarry); FOREST FOX (P A Peter); FORT MEYERS (S G Tarry); FRONT RANK (T Zackey); GAMBOL (A Nassif); GASOLINE (J A Janse van Vuuren); GREEK LEGEND (M G Azzie); HEAVENLY BLUE (M F De Kock); HILILYHILILYHILO (C Binda); HUMIDOR (A J Rivalland); IN THE LOOP (P A Peter); IRISH PRIDE (J A Janse van Vuuren); JANOOBI (M F De Kock); JUBILEE LINE (M F De Kock); JUXTAPOSE (S M Ferreira); KINGS ARCHER (S T Pettigrew); KOSTYA ZU (F C De Beer); LAZER STAR (M G Azzie); LE CLOS (M G Azzie); LIGHTING THE FIRE (A G Laird); LIKE A BOSS (C Dawson); LOCK HIM UP (P A Peter); LUNAR APPROACH (S G Tarry); MACDUFF (J Ramsden); MACHISMO (S G Tarry); MAN’S INN (M N Houdalakis); MASTER ‘N COMMANDER (G V Woodruff); MASTER’S SPIRIT (M F De Kock); MIRACLE BUREAU (J A Soma); MISTY BIRNAM (M F De Kock); MOOFEED (M F De Kock); MOVE LIKE JAGGER (L W Goosen); NATIONAL KEY (B O Wiid); NEPHRITE (M N Houdalakis); NETFLIX (M N Houdalakis); NEW PREDATOR (J A Janse van Vuuren); NIGHT TRIP (C L Bass-Robinson); NOAH’S ARK (P A Peter); NOBLE STAR (M N Houdalakis); ODD ROB (G H Van Zyl); OVER IT (C Mayhew); PERFUMED LADY (M F De Kock); PERSIAN RUG (M F De Kock); PIVOTAL PURSUIT (G M Alexander); PRINCE OF ORANGE (C Dawson); QEYAADAH (M F De Kock); RAFEEF (M F De Kock); RAISE THE RED (M N Houdalakis); RESOLUTE CAPTAIN (A G Laird); REVELATION (L W Goosen); RIVER EMPRESS (G V Woodruff); ROCKETBALL (G H Van Zyl); ROYAL ARMOUR (L Forbes); SEVENTH HEART (S G Tarry); SHADOW LINE (S W Kenny); SHADOW OFHIS SMILE (G V Woodruff); SHEPARD ONE (G M Alexander); SILVER CLASS (J A Janse van Vuuren); SILVER SPRING (G H Van Zyl); ST TROPEZ (J Ramsden); STAVINSKY (L J Erasmus); STONEHENGE (S G Tarry); STORMY ECLIPSE (C Laird); STREET FLYER (M N Houdalakis); THE CAPTAIN’S TUNE (G V Woodruff); THE SHREDDER (P F Matchett); THE STONE THROWER (J Ramsden); THRUST (P F Matchett); TOKYO DRIFT (S W Kenny); TORO ROSSO (M F De Kock); TRIP TO PARADISE (F C De Beer); URGENT FURY (P A Peter); WARGAMES (J A Janse van Vuuren); WILL PAYS (M G Azzie).

Photo: New Predator, Heritage entry.