THE final field for Tuesday’s Gr1 Melbourne Cup at Flemington includes a line-up of 23 runners. The famous Monday Melbourne Cup Parade took place through the streets of the city this morning and Prince Of Penzance was one of the previous winner who led the parade. (headline photo)

James Cummings, bidding to emulate the feat of his legendary grand-father Bart and great grand-father Jim, will be represented by top-weight Hartnell.

Darren Weir will have three runners — Cox Plate runner-up Humidor, Big Duke and Amelie’s Star.

Ireland’s Willie Mullins will also have a trio in the Cup — 2015 runner-up Max Dynamite, Wicklow Brave and Royal Ascot winner Thomas Hobson.

Owner Lloyd Williams will chase an unprecedented sixth Cup with a record six runners — defending champion Almandin, Johannes Vermeer, Rekindling, US Army Ranger, Bondi Beach and Gallante.

The Macedon Lodge owner has already savoured a record five Cup triumphs with Almandin, Green Moon, Efficient, What A Nuisance and Just A Dash.

Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott will attempt to snatch the Cup with featherweight hope Cismontane, who raced into the Cup with Lexus Stakes victory.

Trainer Hugo Palmer and his family (Wall Of Fire), and jockey Craig Williams enjoying the Melbourne Cup Street Parade.
Trainer Hugo Palmer and his family (Wall Of Fire), and jockey Craig Williams enjoying the Melbourne Cup Street Parade.

Marmelo and Wall Of Fire will chase England’s first triumph in the race, while Nakeeta will carry the hopes of Scotland.

France will be represented by Tiberian, the celebrated son of a teaser stallion.

Red Cardinal will seek to give Germany’s Andreas Wohler a second Cup after Protectionist’s 2014 success and will be ridden by dual Cup winner Kerrin McEvoy, who has scored previously with Almandin and Brew.


  1. Hartnell – D Lane 12
  2. Almandin – F Dettori 14
  3. Humidor – B Shinn 13
  4. Tiberian – O Peslier 23
  5. Marmelo – H Bowman 16
  6. Red Cardinal – K McEvoy 24
  7. Johannes Vermeer – B Melham 3
  8. Bondi Beach – M Walker 1
  9. Max Dynamite – Z Purton 2
  10. Ventura Storm – G Boss 6
  11. Who Shot Thebarman – T Berry 20 Scratched
  12. Wicklow Brave – S Baster 8
  13. Big Duke – B Avdulla 5
  14. US Army Ranger – J Spencer 22
  15. Boom Time – C Parish 9
  16. Gallante – M Dee 18
  17. Libran – D Dunn 7
  18. Nakeeta – G Schofield 19
  19. Single Gaze– K O’Hara 11
  20. Wall Of Fire – C Williams 15
  21. Thomas Hobson – J Moreira 21
  22. Rekindling – C Brown 4
  23. Amelie’s Star – D Yendall 10
  24. Cismontane – B Mertens 17


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.