RUNNERS from the stables of Sean Tarry and Mike de Kock dominate the entries for the R1-million Betting World Gauteng Guineas and the Wilgerbosdrift Gauteng Fillies Guineas, both Grade 2 races, over 1600m at Turffontein on Saturday 4 March.

Tarry has nominated six to run in the Guineas and four for the Fillies Guineas while De Kock has entered five horses for the Guineas and six for the fillies event.  However, De Kock does have an overlap as fillies Ektifaa and Orchid Island have been nominated for both events.

Both have run against and beaten the boys and they do get a 2.5kg sex allowance in the Guineas. However, Ektifaa, winner of Saturday’s Tony Ruffel Stakes (Grade 3) at Turffontein has drawn widely for both races and that could leave De Kock with a quandary. Orchid Island drew No 9 of 18 for the Guineas but No 13 of 30 entries in the fillies Guineas

De Kock had further bad news when Heavenly Blue drew widest of all for the Guineas but the good news for the yard is that Daffiq drew No 4 and Janoobi No 8.

The news was no better for Tarry as Matador Man (headline photo) drew No 15 in the Guineas while Safe Harbour, at 108 the highest merit-rated runner in both fields, has landed up at No 21 in the fillies’ race. However, his unbeaten colt, Al Sahem drew beautifully at No 5.

The Guineas is the joint first leg of the SA Triple Crown while the Fillies Guineas is the joint first leg of the Wilgerbosdrift SA Triple Tiara. The Grade 1 Cape Guineas and Fillies Guineas are also considered for the first leg of both events.

Doosra, who had to give weight all round but still managed to finish third in Saturday’s Tony Ruffel, drew No 11.

The R7-million SA Triple Crown for three-year-olds is the richest series of races in Africa. The other two legs are the R2-million SA Classic (Grade 1) over 1800m at Turffontein on Saturday 1 April and the R2-million SA Derby (Grade 1) over 2450m at Turffontein on Saturday 6 May.

A bonus of R2 million will be paid to owner of any horse who can win all three legs. So far three horses have achieved this – Horse Chestnut in 1999, Louis The King in 2014 and Abashiri last year.

The other legs of the Triple Tiara are the R1-million Wilgerbosdrift SA Fillies Classic (Grade 1) over 1800m and the R1-million Wilgerbosdrift SA Oaks (Grade 2) over 2450m. These are run on the same day as the Classic and Derby respectively.

A bonus of R1 million will be paid to the owners of any filly who wins all three legs of the Triple Tiara. Two fillies have earned the bonus – Igugu in 2011 and Cherry On The Top in 2013.

Supplementary entries close at 11am on Monday 20 February while declarations must be in by 11am on Thursday 23 February.

The final fields will be embargoed and announced on TellyTrack.

Entries:  R1-million Betting World Gauteng Guineas (Grade 2) over 1600m:

18 Heavenly Blue (AUS) (3C) Mike de Kock 60.0 100
8 Janoobi (3C) Mike de Kock 60.0 100
11 Doosra (3C) Johan Janse van Vuuren 60.0 98
15 Matador Man (3G) Sean Tarry 60.0 96
2 Chili Con Carne (3G) Lucky Houdalakis 60.0 94
3 Unagi (3G) Gary Alexander 60.0 94
5 #Al Sahem (3C) Sean Tarry 60.0 93
6 Furiosa (AUS) (3C) Sean Tarry 60.0 90
14 Ribovar (3G) Sean Tarry 60.0 90
16 Winter Is Coming (3C) Frank Robinson 60.0 90
12 Life Is Good (3G) Mike Azzie 60.0 89
4 Daffiq (3C) Mike de Kock 60.0 88
1 Copper Pot (3C) Sean Tarry 60.0 87
7 Tilbury Fort (3C) Sean Tarry 60.0 84
10 Maximizer (3C) Paul Peter 60.0 83
13 Military Award (3G) Weiho Marwing 60.0 74
17 Ektifaa (AUS) (3F) Mike de Kock 57.5 103
9 Orchid Island (3F) Mike de Kock 57.5 93

Entries:  R500,000 Wilgerbosdrift Gauteng Fillies Guineas (Grade 2) over 1600m:

21 Safe Harbour (3F) Sean Tarry 60.0 108
19 Ektifaa (AUS) (3F) Mike de Kock 60.0 103
5 Maleficent (3F) Alec Laird 60.0 99
20 Anna Pavlova (3F) Roy Magner 60.0 93
12 Babbling Brooke (3F) Ormond Ferraris 60.0 93
10 Last Chirp (3F) St John Gray 60.0 93
13 Orchid Island (3F) Mike de Kock 60.0 93
8 Al Hawraa (AUS) (3F) Mike de Kock 60.0 91
6 Being Fabulous (AUS) (3F) Johan Janse van Vuuren 60.0 91
24 Smiling Blue Eyes (3F) Sean Tarry 60.0 89
1 Pool Party (3F) Roy Magner 60.0 88
15 Santiburi (AUS) (3F) Robbie Sage 60.0 87
23 Visuality (3F) Sean Tarry 60.0 87
17 Belle Rose (3F) Mike de Kock 60.0 85
4 Redberry Lane (3F) Sean Tarry 60.0 84
7 Red Pomegranate (AUS) (3F) Mike de Kock 60.0 83
16 #Grande Roche (AUS) (3F) Geoff Woodruff 60.0 82
14 Biblical Susan (AUS) (3F) Mike de Kock 60.0 80
22 Oriental Oak (3F) Robbie Sage 60.0 80
18 Delightful Dancer (3F) David Nieuwenhuizen 60.0 79
3 Elusive Strike (3F) Stanley Ferreira 60.0 78
11 My Friend Lee (3F) Lucky Houdalakis 60.0 78
2 Rouge Allure (3F) Stephen Moffatt 60.0 78
9 Kilmokea (3F) Robbie Hill 60.0 76




This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.